Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Archive for May 27, 2011

Mountain Man

I have found, what I believe to be, my perfect match in life with this wonderfully glorious specimen of the male species.  My Mountain Man.  In fact, I don’t know how we ever existed apart from one another.  Ok, perhaps that’s taking it a bit too far.  I mean, after all, we did in fact exist without each other.  We existed well enough to live 30+ years on this earth and have families and kids and other lives all together before meeting one another.  But, I know for me, I was only existing.  I wasn’t thriving.  I wasn’t living.  I wasn’t enjoying life like I do now that it’s whole and complete.  I’m sure that a lot of people think the same thing about their beloved, but honestly, anyone would be hard pressed to find a more perfectly matched pair.

We have so much in common; so many of the same likes and dislikes, so many of the same values in life, so many of the same beliefs, so many of the same thoughts spill over and we end up finishing each other’s sentences quite often.  We have nearly the same conversations with the kids at separate times, and we speak almost the same exact words, verbatim, and then we get the look that says ‘oh my gosh, he/she just said the exact same thing!’  It’s uncanny and a little scary at times.

We also have our differences, too.  And they vary in much the same way that our commonalities do.  We are not, nor will we ever be, the exact same person embodied by two people.  Our differences make us just as strong as our similarities.  They complement one another.  They nurture our individuality and keep us in our respective roles as man and woman in a relationship.

So, to go along with my Mountain Girl name in this little ol blog of mine, he has been dubbed my Mountain Man.  I think it’s very fitting.  He may have hailed from the awe-inspiring flat lands of the Mid West, but he’s a Mountain Man, through and through.  And he’s the prefect match for this Mountain Girl.  And I couldn’t be happier!  🙂

Tag Cloud