Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Archive for May 20, 2011

The Last Day?

Hopefully this won’t offend anyone.  These are just my thoughts regarding the hot topic of the day.

As many of you have surely already heard, tomorrow is supposed to be the beginning of the end.  May 21, 2011: The Rapture, the second coming of Christ, the last day here on earth for some people, and the end of life as we know it for others.  So much hype and publicity goes into these little predictions that crop up ever so often.  So much speculation, so much guess-work, so many differing opinions as to who’s right and who’s wrong, so many “what if’s”.

It’s hard not to be bombarded with all of these threats of imminent doom.  Even up here in this secluded cabin, one simply cannot escape stories like this.  When I was little, I can remember really only hearing about tales of such predictions because they were plastered all over the front covers of the tabloids in line at the grocery store, (right next to pictures of the elephant man, the bearded lady, and the worlds largest baby).  Now, stories like this are everywhere!  The newspapers, television, radio and the internet spread information with lightning fast speed.

Now, don’t get me wrong, as a woman of faith, I fully believe that there will come a day when God’s plans will come to fruition.  (And yes, I understand there are many people who disagree with me.  And that’s ok.  You have your beliefs and I have mine.  And it’s ok to differ.)  BUT- I don’t believe that any of us know the exact date that it’s going to happen.  I don’t think any of us are supposed to know.  Wouldn’t that be kinda like cheating anyway?  I mean, people could do anything they wanted and as long as they made nice with God before that specific day and time, all would be forgiven and everything would be just groovy.  I’m pretty sure that’s why we haven’t been given an expiration date for this thing we call life.  That and the fact that we’d all probably be insane worrying about the impending date of our demise.

Surely we have evolved enough as human beings to come to our beliefs, whatever they may be, based on a combination of education, trust, faith, and a little common sense.  Whether you believe in God, some other spiritual deity, or absolutely nothing at all, I hope you don’t put much stock into all these predictions about the last days.  We should always be conscious and aware and prepared, but we shouldn’t be living in fear based on a prediction.

Live life to the fullest and with no regrets.

Now, I’m gonna go eat a piece of chocolate, bask in all the beauty that surrounds me, make plans for my future, love my family, enjoy my evening, and sleep soundly tonight.  No worries…

Tag Cloud