Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Quality vs Quantity

As y’all have probably already noticed, I’ve broken my promise to myself.  The one promise I made to myself to write something, anything, every single day for a year.  I’ve kept it up for a little over a month, and had I not started working outside the home, I probably could’ve stuck with it for the full 365 days.  Well, 366 since this is a leap year.  But, you know you’ve got a problem once something you love becomes a chore and you find yourself saying things like, “I haven’t written today”, or, “Ugggghhhh, I’ve gotta write before I go to bed”.

Truth  be told, the content and subject matter were suffering, too.  Some of them were only a couple of sentences strewn together simply to fulfill this promise to myself and they really weren’t the things that my soul wants to write about.  Sure, I was writing, but honestly, some of it was just flat and boring and looking back on some of it, I can’t believe I lowered my standards so much just to fill a self-imposed quota.  Needless to say, I’m still disappointed in myself.  I’m better than that.  I may not be the world’s greatest writer, but I know I’m better than some of the garbage that I posted last month.

So, the promise to write something, anything, every single day is out.  Just like most of the New Year’s resolutions that were made around the same time, I’m abandoning an original, extremely good, wildly optimistic idea and I’m embracing a new way of thinking when it comes to my one true creative outlet.  I’m gonna write when the mood strikes me and only when it’s something I feel passionately about, or something that interests me, or something that makes me smile, or makes my heart sing, or touches my soul in such a profound way that my very existence will be forever altered due to my soul-stirring.

Sadly, for some of you, that could be the color I decide to paint my toes on a particular day.  BUT, it’ll still be good because I’ll be giving 110% instead of the bare minimum.

Samuel Johnson said it best…

“What is written without effort is in general read without pleasure.”

I couldn’t agree more.

Comments on: "Quality vs Quantity" (2)

  1. TheOthers1 said:

    I think we are all different types of writers and we have to do the craft in the way that comes easiest to us. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

