Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

In Denial

Have you ever tried really hard to deny something about yourself, only to have it later come back and bite you in the butt?

Well, I have been in a deep, dark denial for the past couple of days and last night, it finally came back and bit me in the hiney.   Is that a word?  It is down here in the South.  Nope, evidently not.  I just looked it up on Dictionary.com and no results were found for hiney.  Well, for all you folks that don’t speak fluent Southernese.  Wait.  I don’t think that’s a word, either.  Oh well.  Anyway, hiney means butt and Southernese is our special vernacular down here in the South.

Anyway, I digress.

I’ve been battling a runny nose for a few days now and I’ve kept repeating, both to myself and to others, that I am not sick.  I am not sick!  I tried the whole “positive thinking” thing.  I kept putting my positive thoughts out into the universe, hoping desperately that I would not, in fact, be sick.

Well, so much for all that optimistic crap.

I’m sick.

And I vehemently despise being sick!

I think I’d rather go through a pelvic exam than have a runny nose.  That may seem absurd to some, but honestly, I just really, really hate having to blow my nose every ten minutes.  I hate what happens to my nose after I’ve had to blow it every ten minutes for three days straight.  I hate the whole ick factor involved with blowing slimy mucus out of my body and into a never thick enough tissue to keep me from having the eewy thoughts of snot touching my hands, even though it rarely ever happens.  I hate the whole idea of having a cold.

I don’t have time to get sick.  I’ve got things to do, damn it!

Alas, getting sick falls right into that category of things I really don’t have any control over in this world.  No matter how hard I try to avoid it, I still end up getting sick occasionally.

Do you think perhaps that’s why I hate being sick so much?  ‘Cause I don’t have any control over it?

Hmmmmmmm…….

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

