Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Neglecting Myself

Have any of you ever skipped something that you love to do in your everyday routine so you could make time for the other things that you have to do, thinking that if you put all of your energy into all those have to things that you could somehow make a difference, only to later learn that by neglecting yourself and the things you really enjoy, you’re really not helping anyone?

(Pay no attention to the run on sentence.  That’s just how it happens in my head.  Sorry.)

Welcome to my world for the past few weeks.  My synapses have been in overdrive for so long now, trying to brain storm and solve different problems for different people, it kinda hurts to try to slow it down and just have a few minutes of Me time!  I am exhausted from all the worrying and planning and phone calls and thoughts and conversations, some of which were strictly in my head and between myself and the other people inhabiting this body of mine.  Ok, so that might’ve been a bad joke because I really don’t suffer from multiple personality disorder, but I have felt like I’m being pulled in a thousand different directions all at the same time.

So, because of all the stuff that’s been going on, I’ve completely neglected myself and my love of writing and as a result, I’ve probably only stressed myself out even more.  Writing brings me such pleasure and joy, a release, if you will.  Even if no one else reads it, the act of writing actually brings me peace and clarity in a world gone mad.  So, starting today, I’m gonna make a more concerted effort to write something, anything, every single day.  There may still be times when we have company, or we’re out of town, or we have weekend activities that I may not actually post something everyday, but I’m still gonna write something every single day.

Hmmm…  I wonder who I’ll get in trouble with if I fall short on this little endeavor….

Comments on: "Neglecting Myself" (2)

  1. Starting from your last sentence, I can say I’ve learned that you cannot really bulls*it yourself. You can do it temporarily, you can try to mask it as something else, you can find excuses, but sooner or later your self will come back to question you.
    Taking care of yourself first, may sound selfish to some, but I think it’s the opposite of selfish. You’ll be more content with yourself, you’ll have a huge sense of accomplishment and thus you’ll have even more positive energy to then help others. But I’m sure you already knew all that! 😉
    I’m also struggling with mustering the mental force to write every single day something. If you find the secret, let me know! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words! As you’ve probably gathered, I’ve not posted another single sentence since this entry. I have however been writing a little everyday. Although, a lot of it has been on a special type of stationary in my head. 🙂 Anyway, I’m really trying and if I do happen upon that secret, I’ll be sure to share!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

