Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

If Only…

Do you ever think about which tv family you wanted to belong to when you were growing up?  For that matter, did you ever want to belong to a tv family when you were growing up?  Or am I the only one?  With all the scandalous reality shows out there nowadays and the other, somewhat questionable “family” programming, it makes me yearn for days gone by when almost any problem that could ever possibly arise could be solved in under thirty minutes.  Maybe an hour for the really big problems that required two episodes.

I’ve always, for as long as I can remember, wanted to be a Cosby kid!  They were, and still remain to be, my favorite tv family.  No matter what was going on, they always seemed to have fun in that house.  Even when one of the kids did something really bad, there was a calm and rationale conversation, the punishments were doled out, and then all was right with their little world once again.

How wonderful would it be if you could just sit your children down, have a frank, firm, but still funny conversation with them about whatever it is they’re doing wrong at the time, and then, get this, they’d actually listen to what you had to say, correct the problem, and everyone would go back to living a normal, civilized, fun, happy little life?  I know, I know.  Reality doesn’t quite work that fluidly.  It’s a shame, though.  Don’t you think?

This happens to be one of my very favorite scenes from the show and it reminds me of the things I’m dealing with right now with my son.  The ever constant “comeback” for every little thing I tell him or try to explain to him.  The trying in vain to slack off.  The “I know more than you know” attitude.  It’s all in there.  Only Cliff and Theo have a much calmer and very humorous conversation along with an important lesson thrown in there.  At my house, it doesn’t ever seem to be this easy.

Back to reality…

I know I, for one, could really use a good day right about now here in the land of what I have lovingly dubbed Teenage Hell.  It would make my heart sing just to be able to talk to this boy of mine and actually get through to him.  And believe me, I’m under no grand illusions that everyday is gonna be perfect and there’s never gonna be any drama or trouble.  He’s a teenage boy, for God’s sake!  I know I’m dealing with what some may refer to as a ticking time bomb.  But, come on!  Every day doesn’t have to end with me feeling like I’ve been bashing my head against a brick wall, does it?

My friends and family that have already went through Teenage Hell keep assuring me that yes, things will eventually get better… but it may take a few years for things to calm down.  They keep telling me that this is normal and that these are gonna be the hardest years of parenting, but that in the end, if I stay the course, it’ll all be worth it and he’ll be just fine.  Most of these people who keep telling me these things have raised some pretty outstanding young men, so I guess I should take comfort in their words and trust that in the end, it’ll be alright.

In my heart of hearts, I know that we’ll all make it through this and I’m even fairly certain that we’ll all come out alive on the other end.  But, I think sometimes I’d just rather live in my fantasy tv family land where everything is hashed out, lessons are learned, happiness abounds, and love prevails, all in 30 minutes or less.  If only…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

