Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

The Flicker of a Lighbulb

I had an epiphany today.

It just occurred to me that being a blogger/writer/whatever-the-heck-it-is I am can be a very tedious and time-consuming thing.  And in the midst of all this tedious and time-consuming that’s going on, do you know what else is happening?  Nothing.  Absolutely nothing.

Writing, while very rewarding, is a very sedentary activity.  I’ve yet to figure out a way to walk around while I’m banging out my latest thoughts regarding whatever just happens to be floating through my brain matter.  I’ve also not figured out how to multitask while writing, either.  How great would it be to be able to do the dishes, return phone calls, fold the laundry, and scrub the tub while getting all these thoughts that are constantly bouncing around in my head down into some comprehensible format?

Well, perhaps that’s taking it just a little bit too far.  But, any of you that love to write like I do can surely relate to my plight.  Here lately, my creative juices have been coinciding with the time that I have to leave to pick my son up from the bus stop.  And I don’t know about y’all, but if I don’t get my ideas jotted down somewhere when they happen, then it’s like they’re lost forever in some time warp, never to return…  Until 3 in the morning when I am jolted awake, sometimes rather violently, by them, at which time I’m sure not gonna be jumping outta bed to rush downstairs to write.

Wait a minute….  Hmmm…

Maybe that’s the answer.  Perhaps I should start jumping outta bed whenever an idea brings me back into the realm of consciousness.  Or at the very least, I guess I could roll over and jot whatever the thought is down on some paper to refer back to it in the daylight hours.  I’m sure I’ve read this tip somewhere before…

And there you have it.  Another epiphany.  That’s two in one day!  Any of you that know me personally knows that’s a lot for me!

 

Comments on: "The Flicker of a Lighbulb" (2)

  1. We need a voice activated computer that we could wear around our neck while we were doing the really important things in our life. I’m so far behind in reading all of the blogs that I love so much…I guess it happens to everyone.

  2. I think I just need a few more hours in the day. Or I need to figure out how to function on a lot less sleep! We’ll make it thru, though! I guess…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

