Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

1~ Naps.  What adult in their right mind wouldn’t just love to go back to the days of having to take a nap every afternoon?  I’m all for bringing siesta’s to this country and making it mandatory for every citizen to cease and desist from any further work until we’ve had at least an hour to lay our weary heads down and shut our heavy eyelids for some much needed rest!

2~ Candy.  Yes, I’m very well aware that as adults, we can eat as much candy as we’d like without the fear of retribution from our parents anymore.  But seriously, as adults, do we really still get sugar highs like we did when we were little?  Come on!  When’s the last time a handful of M&M’s made you bounce off the wall?  Wait.  Really?  You still get sugar rushes from candy?  Well then what in the name of all that is holy is wrong with me?  Candy doesn’t give me energy anymore.

*But chocolate does makes me feel better about whatever just happens to be going on around me.  It’s like a soothing salve for my soul.

3~ Bicycles.  I don’t know ’bout y’all, but when you get to be my age and certain parts of your body are much more womanly than they were before you developed hips and breasts and a big ‘ol butt, riding a bike just isn’t as fun as it used to be.

*Oh and just for the record.  I love my big ‘ol butt.  It’s took me years of eatin’ beans and taters to get this thing and I’m pretty dang proud of it!  As previously stated in this blog, I already know there’s something terribly, terrible wrong with me!  A woman with no body issues?  Simply unheard of in this day and age!  Anyway, I digress.  Lets get back to the list.

4~ Mud.  How many of you, dear readers, have ever taken a mud bath?  And no, I’m not talking about the ones you go to a salon and pay for.  I’m talking about finding just the right mud hole outside and deciding that it is just too tempting not to lay down in it, fully clothed in a snow white ruffled belly shirt, submerge yourself as far as you can possibly go without actually drowning, saturate every strand of your curly blonde hair, and then proceed to splash around and squish the wondrously glorious mud with your fingers and your toes until they’re plum pruney.   Ahhh…  One of my favorite memories as a child.

5~ Saturday Morning Cartoons.  In this day and age of cartoons being on 24 hours a day, somehow, they’re just not as exciting as they used to be.  At least not for this ‘ol gal.  What?  Responsible adults aren’t supposed to like to sit down and watch an hours worth of Looney Tunes?  Really!  Apparently I didn’t get the memo.  That, or I’m still just a big kid myself.  Jury’s still out on that one.

6~ Licking The Beaters.  Honestly, is there any better way to eat batter, icing, pudding, whipped cream, meringue, mashed potatoes, or any other delectable delight?

7~ Goodnight Kisses.  Looking back on my childhood, some of the happiest times were when my Mama would come into my room every night at bedtime.  She’d sit down on the edge of my bed and I’d say my prayers with her.  She had long fingernails when I was little that she always kept perfectly polished and she’d use those long fingernails to gently, ever so feather-lightly rub my face ’till I was almost asleep.  Then she’d kiss me on the cheek and tell me that she loved me just before she turned off my light and left me there in my bed to dream the sweet dreams of a child.

8~ Paw.  There has never been, nor will there ever be, another man like my Grandpa.  He was definitely one of a kind and there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of him and miss him.

9~ Swimming.  All. Day. Long.  And having to be threatened with death if I didn’t get out of the pool, river, ocean, creek, bathtub, or any other body of water I could manage to submerge myself in.

10~ 20/20 Vision.  It’s been so long ago, I have a hard time remembering what it’s like not to need glasses or contacts to see the world around me.  But I can still conjure up a few images that didn’t require corrective lenses for me to burn them into my brain and think fondly of them now.

*This list is in no particular order.  This just happens to be the order that the thoughts poured out of me today.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

