Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

And The Thunder Rolls…

On this summer day, I’m sitting here in the cabin, completely alone, listening to a storm moving in.  Oh, and my poor, pitiful washer that’s in desperate need of some attention from Mountain Man.  I swear, that man can fix anything.

Anyway, I’m looking outside at the expanse of trees that reside just off the deck and on the knoll down below and as usual, I’m stricken breathless by their majesty and beauty.

Well, here.  Let me just give you a tiny glimpse of what I’m talking about.

This is the view right off the back deck. I can touch the leaves you see in the foreground of the picture! Breathtaking, isn't it?

And believe me y’all.  A picture simply cannot do this justice.  So many details just get lost, no matter how hard I try to capture each and every one of ’em.  This is all around the east and south side of the cabin.  I can touch some of the trees and most of the leaves from the deck out back because the cabin was built around them.  They kinda hug the cabin in a way.  It’s a sight to behold for sure.

Not too long from now, all those green leaves will give way to their fall colors.  Shades of yellows, oranges, reds, and browns will appear and surround me with the warm colors of autumn.

This Mountain Girl cannot wait!

As for right now, in this moment suspended in time, I’ll sit right here, alone, in the silence and comfort of The Treetop Cabin, and continue to listen to the thunder roll off in the distance and feel the breeze as it comes in ahead of the storms that are forecast for our area this afternoon.

It’s times like these that I remember that I really hate being alone.

Comments on: "And The Thunder Rolls…" (2)

  1. Your entry takes me right back to my 2 weeks at Penland in the mountains. On mountain and art time, no rush (except the feeling of wanting to get back to the studio to create!). Thanks for the visit to my blog, so glad you liked it. Check out the penland website and drive up there for a visit one day. They have auctions almost every 2 weeks in the summer which you could attend, also a gallery and self guided tours most days. Cheers~

    • So glad you enjoyed your time here in our little neck of the woods! One of these days, when life’s not so hectic, I’ll make it up to Penland. It’s on my bucket list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

