Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Monsters

How many of you, dear readers, are sharing your house with a monster?  A monster that eats you outta house and home?  A monster that just keeps growing and growing and growing?  A monster that, at times, sucks your will to live?  A monster that some of you may refer to as a teenager?  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  Honestly, having been a teenager myself, once upon a time, in a land not so long and far ago, I try to be understanding and I try to remember what it’s like to be around adults who just don’t seem to have a clue.  But, I swear to all that is good and holy in this world, if I live through these teenage years and don’t strangle the life right outta that boy of mine, it’ll be a small miracle.

Perhaps I’m exaggerating, just a tiny bit.  There are times when I forget that, for the most part, he’s a pretty good kid.  I forget that there’s a lot of things he could be doing right now, but he’s not.  I forget the absolute pure unadulterated hell that his older brother has put me through.  And I forget that, he is still just a kid.

That being said, he’s also my kid!!!  And I know that he knows better than to do some of the things he tries to pull because I’ve taught him better!!!  And I also know that he’s old enough to know the difference between right and wrong and for some strange unbelievable reason that I just absolutely cannot seem to wrap my mind around, he will still choose to do the wrong thing from time to time.  He’s probably not nearly as bad as I’m making him out to be in this little rant of mine, but again, he’s my kid, and he’s just not supposed to be that way, dang it!

Here lately, our biggest issue is his mouth.  All you parents of tweens and teens know exaaaaaactly what I’m referring to.  That sassy, talking back, always has to get in the last word, arguing with every single word you say, mouth!!!  And the fact that he’s cranky because he’s sleepy from having to get up at a quarter ’till six every morning to catch the school bus has really not helped matters in this department.  He’s even went to bed early on several occasions, on his own, just to catch up on some sleep.  And this seems to help, some, but there are still bad days peppered into every week.

I’m really trying to be understanding and not completely lose it every time he opens his mouth to be a sassy teenager.  I’m trying really hard to encourage him in positive ways and refrain from having thoughts of tying him to a piece of furniture and duct taping his mouth shut to avoid those nasty little smartalecky comments and tones that just seem to ooze from his lips on really bad days.

*Just so you know, I would never actually tie him to anything or apply duct tape to one of my children.  That’s just cruel.  Anybody that knows me personally can attest to that.  But, anybody that’s ever dealt with one of these monsters can also relate to my actually thinking about doing it and find the humor in it!

So, that’s where my train of thoughts has derailed this morning.  Right at the corner of Holy Hell! Here We Go Again! and Praise God! We’re Having A Good Day!  

So far, we’re having a good day today.  But, then again, I was only with him for half an hour this morning before I drove him down to the bus stop.  I surely hope this good day will continue this afternoon when I pick him up.

Again, just to be clear on this, for the most part, I’ve got a pretty dang good kid.  But some days, my pretty dang good kid gets on my nerves, pretty dang bad!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

