Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Today is August 1st and I feel as if I’ve lost a couple of months in 2011.  How in the world could it already be August?  How can we already be planning which school supplies to buy?  It was just last week that the kids finally got outta school!  Wasn’t it?  We’ve only made it to the pool a few times this summer and we’ve only been camping a handful of times!  Aaaarrrggghhh!

I know in the past, summers have been absolutely nerve-wracking when I was staying at home with kids, but this summer has just went by waaaaaay too fast!  I haven’t gotten to do even half the things on my to do list!  I feel like I’ve been robbed of time by some unseen force in the universe!

In one week and one day, I’ll be sending kids back out into the world of backpacks, pencils, paper, tests, school buses, best buddies, new teachers, PE, and all other things associated with school.

It’s kinda bittersweet.  I had such big plans for this summer.

Oh well.  I guess all in all, it wasn’t too bad.  We got to do some really fun stuff.  We got to see old friends and spend time with family that lives waaaay too far away.  And we got to spend a lot of time together and enjoy one another, with only a few meltdowns along the way.  Not too bad for a summer break up here at the cabin.  The kids and I fared pretty well up here in the woods and on the days when Mountain Man got to stay home with us, it made it even better!

So, I guess we’ll do our back to school shopping and start getting everything ready this week.  And come next Tuesday morning when I send my teenager back to middle school and the little one back to grade school, I’ll only be sad for a minute or two and I’ll allow myself one tear.  Just one.

‘Cause then I’ll have the house to myself again for a few hours everyday!!!  WooHoo!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

