Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

One of My Heroes

Anyone who knows me personally is well aware of the fact that I have many goals that I hope to achieve before I’m dead and gone.  Some of them are your average run-of-the-mill bucket list type things, while others are a little more off the beaten path and not for everyone.  One of those goals just happens to be my desire to live to be 100.  And I surely do hope that this one will come to fruition.

Many have warned me to be careful what I wish for, especially my friends and acquaintances who either currently, or have in the past, work in the health care field, particularly the ones who care for the elderly.  I’ve been told horror stories of everything from bouts of dementia, to incontinence, to debilitating diseases that leave you with a very keenly alert mind and a body that has forgotten how to function.  Which, by the way, I think would be one of the most awful forms of hell on earth that we could ever live through.  Imagine knowing exactly what’s going on around you, but not being able to participate in your own life, right down to the most basic of functions.  Terrifying!

But, still, I have my dream of living to be a centenarian and no amount of scary stories about old-age is going to deter them.  I know, not many people have aspirations that involve actually getting old.  What can I say?  I’ve told y’all before that there’s something wrong with me.

Anyway, having this goal of blowing out 100 candles on a birthday cake has led my mind to wander about many different things and many different people, and I can honestly say that one of my absolute favorite famous people is none other than Betty White.  She may not be 100, but at 89, she’s still as funny and endearing as she ever was.

I’ve just finished reading her latest book, If You Ask Me (And of Course You Won’t), and I swear, I just love her all the more.  I always loved her on The Golden Girls and who couldn’t help but fall in love with her character in the recent movie The Proposal?  I mean, honestly, she’s just so stinkin’ cute!

My Granny has watched The Golden Girls since it first aired back in 1985, and my two sisters and I always watched it with her.  My middle sister and I got to experience the shows both when they first aired and the re-runs, while my baby sister has cut her teeth solely on the re-runs.  Funnily enough, out of the three of us, she’s the one who has several of the seasons on DVD and still watches the late night re-runs almost religiously.

I don’t have any of The Golden Girls on DVD, but I do still occasionally watch the re-runs that air in the mornings from time to time and Rose has always been my favorite.  Maybe it’s because I too, have tendencies towards not being the sharpest tool in the shed.  Or perhaps I relate to her because even when she says or does something that can only be described as just plain stupid, she’s still just so stinkin’ cute!  Who knows?  But for whatever reason, I’ve always been drawn to her.

After reading this latest book, in which she covers many different topics regarding life, I feel quite confident that I’ll make it to my 100th birthday.  And hopefully, I’ll still be sentient enough to actually enjoy every step of the journey.  The good, the bad and the ugly!  And yes, I’m referring to these dang footprints that Father Time is leaving as he’s marching across my face, apparently in a pair of cleats!

If only I too, can grow old with as much grace and dignity as she seems to be doing, and still keep a sense of humor in the process!  That, in and of itself, is enough of a reason for Betty White to be one of my heroes.  And I love one of the lines from the opening section of the book.  It sums aging up so nicely.  “…if one is lucky enough to be blessed with good health, growing older shouldn’t be something to complain about.  It’s not a surprise, we knew it was coming- make the most of it.”

You gotta love her!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

