Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

The Warning

We’re having a little get-together here at the cabin tonight.  We’ve invited a few of the neighbors over and we’re gonna have a fire and roast hot dogs and make S’Mores and just have a good time.  I love cooking over a campfire, no matter what it is.  And being with Mountain Man, I’ve eaten a lot of different things cooked over a fire.  He takes his culinary skills to a whole other level when he’s cooking outside.

The one thing I’m most looking forward to, just happens to be in the fridge right now.  At this very minute.  In the house.  With me.  Unattended.  That’s right folks, Mountain Man actually left me here alone with a gigantic bowl of his to-die-for potato salad!  He knows how much I love this absolutely divine creation, and he’s left me here alone with it.  God help me.

He was nice enough to let me have just a little taste last night right after he made it, but I swear, it’s like Ruffles potato chips, you can eat just one!!!  And you can’t have just one taste of this potato salad, either!  It’s dang near impossible!  Doesn’t he understand this phenomenon?  Doesn’t he know that the creamy goodness is calling my name, even as I write this?  It’s barely 9am, and I swear, that potato salad is beckoning me to eat it for breakfast!!!

But, alas, I was given a warning this morning, just before Mountain Man walked out the door to go to work.  He’d already kissed me goodbye and was heading for the door when I heard, and I quote, “I weighed the potato salad and I know exactly how much is in there”.  Gosh-darn-it-all-to-heck!!!!  I couldn’t help but laugh, ’cause I knew it was coming.  I knew he wasn’t gonna leave me here alone, all day, with that glorious bowl of wonderfulness without making sure I knew that it was for our guests tonight.

God love that Man, he knows me all too well.  For you see, I absolutely love good food.  I don’t have any real vices to speak of, and I’m not one of those people that’s addicted to food, but I do consider myself to be one of those strange people who has little love affairs with certain dishes.  If you’re a food lover, then you can relate.  If not, then you need to come on over tonight and try some of this life-altering potato salad.  It’ll make a believer out of ya!

As for the warning, I’m gonna be a good girl and wait ’till tonight to have some of the potato salad.  It’ll be hard, but I can do this.  I think.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

