Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Growing Up

My baby is growing up on me and I’m not sure I’m gonna survive it.  I guess it’s kinda silly to refer to someone who’s almost 6ft tall, wears a size 13 shoe, and practices driving down the driveway as a baby, but to me, he’ll always be my cute little blue eyed, blonde haired, bouncing baby boy.  Even if he is almost 14!

This revelation of him becoming an adult has been coming for quite some time now, but it’s really started becoming more and more evident over this past week.  With one little change in a routine that has never faltered in his 13 years and 8 months on this earth, my world has fallen too pieces.  And honestly, I just don’t know if I’m gonna make it through this.

For you see, my baby has got up and went to bed on three different nights this past week without giving me, his Mama, a goodnight hug and a kiss.  Whaaaaaaaa!  It’s absolutely broke my heart, as any mother of a teenager can relate to, I’m sure!  The first night it happened, I just kinda sat there stunned for a minute or two and commented on it to Mountain Man and really thought nothing more of it.  Until it happened again the next night.  I seriously almost lost it at that point!  I could feel the tears stinging my eyes and I couldn’t understand, momentarily, what in the name of all that is Holy was going on!

Then, after I pulled myself together and thought about it, it occurred to me that my baby is probably getting to the age where he’s starting to feel like he’s too old to be hugging and kissing on his Mama.  Wait a minute…  What!!!!  You’re NEVER too old to hug and kiss on your Mama!  I wanted to tell him this, but I held it in and bit my tongue, for I know all too well that this is just a normal part of growing up and that it happens to everyone.  He’ll find his way back to hugging his Mama after all those pesky teenage hormones and changes pass.

And don’t worry ’bout me.  I’ll sneak my hugs and kisses in at other times.  And on the days that I can’t, I’ll just climb up on Mountain Man’s lap and let him hug and kiss on me ’till it’s all better again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

