Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

There is absolutely no better smell in the world than that of warm, crusty bread wafting from the oven.  Well, maybe homemade cookies, or brownies, or cakes or, oh, never mind.  You get the point.  Home baked goodies are absolutely divine!  But homemade bread… absolutely heavenly!

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I’m not a bread snob.  I like just about any kind of bread I can get my hands on.  It doesn’t have to be expensive or fancy or even healthy.  After all, who doesn’t like a piece of plain white bread or, good ‘ol light bread, as we like to call it down here in the South?  It may not be the best thing in the world to eat, health wise, but by-gosh, it’s pretty darn tasty!

I’ve made different varieties of breads for quite a while now, mostly sweet, desert type breads.  And believe me, those loaves are the stuff that our thighs warn us not to eat.  Sinfully good!  I’m talking two people, (I won’t name any names,) could easily knock out one loaf in less than 30 minutes if left alone with one of these beauties.  However, these are not the loaves I’m referring to today.  Today, I’m talking about just plain ol sammy bread.  But let me tell ya, when it’s homemade, it’s never just plain ol anything!

Once I moved up to the cabin, roughly 35 minutes from the nearest grocery store, I realized it might be a good idea to be a little more self-sufficient when it comes to one of the holy trinities of grocery store items for winter time: bread, milk and eggs.  It may not be winter up here anymore, but it’s still nice to be able to whip up a couple of loaves of bread instead of having to run out to the store and buy ’em.

Plus, the huge bonus, for me anyway, bread just tastes so much better when you bake it yourself.  I like to think it’s ’cause of all the love I put into it.  Makes me smile on the inside just a little.

So, anyway, I spent last night baking bread for my little family.  And as usual, it turned out wonderfully yummy.  I highly recommend trying this at least once in your lifetime.  It’ll make your soul sing.  I guarantee it!

Comments on: "Ahhh, Bread. How Do I Love Thee?" (4)

  1. missyj1969@gmail.com said:

    Sona, that bread looks delicious! Now you’ve made me want to make some TODAY! I love your blog, and you too! 🙂

    • Well thank you!!! Glad you enjoyed it! There are tons of good recipes out there to try and I love playing with ’em once I find one I like. By the way, I love ya right back! 🙂

  2. Mountain Man said:

    Yep I must say it’s pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

