Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Slowing Down

Living up here in a cabin in the woods is kinda laid back most of the time.  We don’t particularly get in a rush to do much of anything.  Sure, everything gets done, but it’s different from how I used to live my life when I lived in town.  Before I met the man who slowed me down.

I can’t even imagine what he thought when we first started spending time together.  For me, life was always on the move.  I was always rushing from one thing to the next.  Most of the time, moving so fast I couldn’t even slow down to enjoy simple things.  Sure, I still paused for the sunset every evening to admire the colors and be thankful for the day.  And I still enjoyed a leisurely hour long soak in the tub, but I was literally running through the rest of my day.  Basically living on auto pilot.  I was excellent at multitasking!  I prided myself on being able to take care of so many things at one time!  That was one of my strong points.  Or, so I thought.  Boy, was I ever wrong!

Then, as if sent from the heavens above to rescue me from this life of mundane warp speed living that I’d become so accustomed to, this wonderfully calm man came into my life and showed me the error of my ways.  I hadn’t really noticed just how different this magnificent creature and I were when it came to our approach on tasks in life until he cooked for me for the very first time.  I’ll never forget that first meal as long as I live.

I was in amazement.  I remember just sitting there, in his kitchen, watching in awe at how graceful and purposeful his every move was.  How comfortable he was.  How confident he was.  He was moving so slowly and methodically and he appeared to be actually enjoying what he was doing.  He wasn’t just cooking, he was cooking!  I was in a trance watching him.  I could feel my body start to relax and unwind.

With every stir of a spoon, chop of a knife, dash of a seasoning, or cute little smile he shot me, my heart was melting and I found myself able to breathe, for what felt like the first time ever in my life!  Never had I seen anyone so at ease and so comfortable in the kitchen.  Little did I know, but his approach to cooking paralleled his approach to life in so many ways, which could explain why I was so drawn to his laid back style.

I had no idea that the meal he was preparing that night would set the stage for so many more meals together.  So many conversations between us while he cooked and I watched.  So many little kisses or quick hugs between prepping, cooking and plating some of the most exquisitely, scrumptious food I’ve ever had the privilege of putting in my mouth.  So many moments spent finally being able to relax in his easy way of living.

Slowing down has been one of the greatest things that’s ever happened to this ol gal.  As it turns out, being a really good multitasker just wasn’t working for me.  And while some may pride themselves on being able to do a zillion things at once, if they’d just slow down long enough to breath from time to time, they too would see that there’s more to life than getting it all done.  Sometimes, you just gotta let go and hope for the best.

Now, two years and many life-altering meals later, Mountain Man still never ceases to amaze me with both his culinary skills and his laid back approach to life.  I can’t imagine I’ll ever go back to my whirlwind days.  Sure, I find myself slipping back into that world of insanity once in a while, but it doesn’t last long.  I just pull up a chair and watch my Mountain Man cook something, and everything suddenly feels better again.  He keeps me sane in a world gone mad.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

