Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

Longer Days

It just occurred to me yesterday that summer is in full swing here on the mountain.  It may not officially be summer according to the calendar, but Mother Nature has decided to bring on the long, hot days a little early this year.

My revelation had nothing to do with the unusually warm days we’ve been having or the late afternoon thunderstorms.  No, it was the fact that it was still light enough to see outside at almost 9pm.  It totally threw me off all evening long.  And not in a bad way, either.  It’s nice to think it’s getting really late, only to find out that you’ve still got a few hours left to play outside and relax in a lawn chair, hovered around the tiki torches and ThermaCell’s.  Have I mentioned that the bugs up here are absolutely, downright vicious?  I swear I think some of ’em are carrying switchblades!

But, bugs or no bugs, being able to enjoy being outside is such a joy for me.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  This ‘ol gal absotively, posilutely does not like heat!  (Unless there’s a pool, river, lake, ocean or any other form of water to cool off in.)  I cannot stand to be stuck outside when it’s 130 degrees and I feel like my skin is melting off my bones.  I turn into a raging mad lunatic with a fuse about as long as an eyelash hair.  Well, that might be stretching it, just a little.  But, really, I don’t like to be hot.  I’d rather be bundled up in three layers of clothes, under a blanket, sitting by a fire and snuggling up with the dog trying to stay warm in the middle of a snowstorm, than to be sweating for no other reason than it’s hot outside!  That, to me, is absolute misery!

But, early in the morning, and late in the afternoon, when the day is just beginning or just ending, those are my two favorite times to be out here, in the woods, absorbing all of nature’s beauty.  The colors of the Western NC mountains and the woods surrounding me, the Carolina blue skies, the sounds of the birds singing, the smells of the earth and the fresh cut grass, the feel of the early morning fog or the late evening dew kissing my skin, ahhhh, bliss.  It just doesn’t get any better!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

