Enjoying life's adventures in a secluded mountain cabin

When I first started seeing this absolutely wonderful man that I have been so lucky to have been blessed with, we were talking about where he lived and the distance between his house and mine.  I lived right smack dab in the middle of a little town, 5 to 10 minutes from everything, depending on the traffic and the lights.  He proceeded to tell me that he lived in a little cabin on a mountain on the opposite end of the county, about a half an hour away.  Sounded absolutely dreamy to this gal who really didn’t like sharing walls, driveways, yards, and various other things with way too many neighbors!

Then, he proceeded to tell me that it takes him 10 minutes to reach the pavement.  Ok.  Deep breath.  I had never been to his house.  I was just getting to know him, and being the untrusting person that I just happen to be, I’m automatically thinking the worst.  This man lives in a shack, located on the side of a mountain that only a goat can access and if he gets me up there, no one will be able to hear my screams for help and I may never be heard from again!  In hindsight, I think I may have been just a tad bit paranoid.

After some internal turmoil and much deliberation on my part, I agreed to have dinner at his house.  He agreed to meet me on the main highway and let me follow him up to his cabin since trying to give me directions could prove to be a greater task than either of us was willing to take on.

This site didn't help with the whole hearing banjos thing...

We followed the main highway for a bit until we turned onto this little country back road that wound its way deeper into the countryside before we finally turned onto a gravel road that I might’ve missed altogether if left to my own devices.  I had gotten to know him a little better at this point, so I knew he wasn’t going to harm me in any way, but honestly, I coulda swore I heard banjos playing somewhere in the distance when my tires first made contact with that gravel.

At least the scenery was improving...

He wasn’t kidding when he said it took 10 minutes to get up here.  10 minutes of gravel, and curves, and dirt, and steep pulls, and more curves.

This sign, located about halfway up the mountain, sure didn't help my mental state on that first trip up here...

But I must say, the drive up here to the cabin on that little gravel road was, and still is, one of the most beautiful drives I’ve ever been fortunate enough to drive.  (Did I use the word drive too much in that sentence?)

Honestly, this place is what people are talking about when they refer to “God’s country”, or “heaven on earth”.  And when we finally made it to his cabin and I was able to see the beauty and simplicity of it, (not to mention the fact that it sure as heck wasn’t a shack like I’d first envisioned,) I began to understand why people choose to live this far away from the rest of the world.  It’s so peaceful here.  You can breath up here!  Everything just felt right up here.  It’s like time stands still when you’re here.

Did I ever think I’d be moving up here permanently?  No.  In fact, several people ask me about that very thing many times over the course of our early relationship.  Some of my family kept insisting that I’d eventually leave civilization and move up here near the top of the world.  I kept insisting that they were all nuts!  I wasn’t moving out of town!  I wasn’t leaving a hospital, grocery stores, gas stations, restaurants, and my 24hr Wal*Mart, (all of which were less than 5 miles from my house,) to live on the side of a mountain, in a cabin, out in the middle of nowhere!  Not to mention I’d have to give up pavement, to an extent, and surrender to that steep, curvy, winding gravel road!  Were they all completely insane???

The last turn onto our driveway. Heaven awaits...

But, in the end, I did.  We packed up all of my earthly possesions, put some of them in storage, brought some of them with us, and I haven’t looked back.  I love living up here amongst the trees and the clouds.  It’s not always easy, and I sometimes miss being able to jump in the car and pick up something for supper, or the convenience of my 24hr Wal*Mart, (chocolate cravings in the middle of the night can make you do weird things).  But I don’t regret moving up here at all.  I love this place and I feel honored to call it my home.  Even if it does take 10 minutes to hit the pavement.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

